Photo Editing Before/After

Before I debut my post containing the majority of this season’s photography (It’s autumn here, for those of you living in the other hemisphere), I just wanted to show how editing can really improve a photo when you know what you want from it!

GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA

The first thing I noticed about the picture above was the lack of color. The shadows provided by the trees created inadequate lighting for the picture to possess vibrant colors. I knew that I wanted to improve the color quality. You can see that the main colors of the picture would be yellows and oranges, so those are the colors you want to increase. Now to go about doing it……………………

GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA

I actually just used PicMonkey to edit the photo. (Proves that it’s not too difficult to be a photographer once you get the hang of it!). I increased the contrast a tiny bit, then increased saturation and temperature a little more to give it more of an orange glow. I’m pretty impressed with the after result myself πŸ™‚

2 thoughts on “Photo Editing Before/After

  1. Great use of PicMonkey! I actually posted a tutorial on how to create a custom watermark for your pictures using this online photo editor. It’s a really good tool to use, especially for those who don’t own PS or LR. Thanks for sharing the pics, I always like to see the after and before of the edited pictures πŸ™‚

    • Yes, I saw that tutorial! Very helpful! It definitely is a great tool… Sometimes complicated photoshop isn’t necessary to make a picture beautiful. Thanks for the feedback! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

